Technology Computer Fun and Learning Links

January Technology News… Computer Fun and Learning – Parts of Speech
A good writer knows how words work and how to use them. One step to becoming a good writer is learning how to classify words. Students love to build with blocks. There are different types of blocks: basic square blocks, connectors, corners, windows, doors, and more. In order to make a fabulous building, they need to combine several types of blocks. We can think about words like building blocks. It takes several types of words to make a good sentence or paragraph. In English, we sort words into eight
types, called parts of speech. The eight parts of speech are: nouns, pronouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, prepositions, conjunctions, and interjections. Let’s learn more about them. Go to any web browser and type in the link below or look for the links on our school website: www.frrsd.org.
Grade K-1 – ABCYA Learn Nouns and Verbs – http://www.abcya.com/nouns_and_verbs.htm
Grade 2 – Turtle Diary Spot the Part of Speech – https://www.turtlediary.com/game/identify-the-part-of-speech.html
Grade 3 – Fun Brain Grammar Gorillas – https://www.funbrain.com/games/grammar-gorillas
Grades 4-5 – Parts of Speech Asteroids – http://www.abcya.com/parts_of_speech.htm
Grade 6 – BrainPop Sortify Parts of Speech –https://www.brainpop.com/games/sortifypartsofspeech/

December Technology News… Computer Fun and Learning – What’s the Main Idea? This December, get your child excited about finding the main idea of a paragraph or story with this selection of col-orful, interactive games and stories! The main idea is the point of the paragraph. It is the most important thought about the topic. To figure out the main idea, ask yourself this question: What is being said about the person, thing, or idea (the topic)? The author can locate the main idea in dif-ferent places within a paragraph. The main idea is usually a sentence, and it is usually the first sentence. The writer then uses the rest of the paragraph to support the main idea. Go to any web browser and type in the link below or look for the links on our school website: www.frrsd.org.

Grade K – Compare and Contrast – http://www2.smarttutor.com/player/swf/RC_CompareContrast_LK_V1_T1a_1.swf
Grade 1 – Dotty and Boo Cat in the Stinky Wood – http://flash.topmarks.co.uk/3567
Grade 2 – Alien Intruders – https://reviewgamezone.com/games4/invaders.php?test_id=8041&title=Main%20Idea%20%20Supporting%20Details
Grade 3 – Grilled Cheese Please –https://www.mrnussbaum.com/reads/grilled-cheese-please/
Grade 4 – The Hamburger Game – http://www.pspb.org/blueribbon/games/burger/burger.html
Grade 5 – Room Recess Main Idea – http://www.roomrecess.com/mobile/MainIdea/play.html
Grade 6 – Room Recess Comprehension Crane –http://www.roomrecess.com/mobile/ComprehensionCrane/play.html

November Technology News… Computer Fun and Learning – Data and Graphing

This November, get your child excited about data and graphing with this selection of colorful, interactive games! Kids can practice creating and interpreting graphs and coordinate planes. Go to any web browser and type in the link below or look for the links on our school website: www.frrsd.org.

Grades PreK and K – Fuzz Bugs Graphing – http://www.abcya.com/fuzz_bugs_graphing.htm/
Grade 1 – Color Bar Graph – https://www.education.com/game/color-bar-graph/
Grade 2 – Bar Graphing with Roly – https://www.education.com/game/graphing-germs/
Grade 3 – Bar Graphing with Eggs – https://www.education.com/game/graphing-eggs/
Grade 4 – Graphing Points to Find Treasure –https://www.education.com/game/graphing-coordinates-treasure/
Grade 5 – Scaled Bar Graphs in Space – https://www.education.com/game/graphing-in-space/
Grade 6 – Treasure Hunting – Graphing Points on a Coordinate Plane – https://www.education.com/game/graphing-finding-treasure/

October Technology News… Computer Fun and Learning – Measurement Games

This October, get your child excited about measurements with this selection of colorful, interactive games! Kids can practice using rulers to estimate and compare lengths and heights, use measurement vocabulary, and gain experience measuring in both metric and standard units. Go to any web browser and type in the link below or look for the links on our school website: www.frrsd.org.

PreK – Castle Measurement – https://www.education.com/game/castle-measurement/
Grade K – Biggest and Smallest Mud Hope – https://www.education.com/game/biggest-smallest-mud-hop/
Grade 1 – Reordering Objects – https://www.education.com/game/reordering-objects/
Grade 2 – Movie Night Measurement – https://www.education.com/game/movie-night-measurement/
Grade 3 – World Tour Measurement – https://www.education.com/game/world-tour-measurement/
Grade 4 – Sal’s Sub Shop – https://www.mrnussbaum.com/sal/
Grade 5 – Artie Ounces Soda Jerk – https://www.mrnussbaum.com/soda/
Grade 6 – Horrendous Soup – https://www.mrnussbaum.com/soup/